Bringing it Full Circle

Many of today’s trends come full circle, that includes fashion, music, and entertainment. Recently the cast of Grown-ish released their second season promotion video that involved a very familiar theme.

The Freeform hit series promo video was of Zoey Johnson (Yara Shahidi) and her friends paying a tribute to a well-known television show that was also college-based: A Different World.

Each character had their own frame showing something similar to the character from the original. The video even included a new twist to the theme song by Chloe x Halle “Grown” to show some new style going into their second year.

Although there were so many great reviews on the promo video and hit paying homage to such a legendary show. There were a few fans not so happy about it mainly due to the fact that the main character didn’t choose to go to an HBCU like Hillman was.

Some of the positive comments:

“I support it! I’m 38 years old & my kids are 17 and 7 years old and both enjoy watching the reruns of A Different World and the characters so I think this intro would draw them to the #Grownish series out of familiarity alone. I’m glad ANYONE is rebooting our old family sitcoms”

“I know we’re all excited about the thank you, next video but can we talk about how grownish DID THEIR THING with that A Different World intro spin-off.”

“Kenya said grownish was inspired by a Different World a million times. It’s also inspired by his daughter who attends a PWI. It’s a homage. You know paying honor to. Obviously, A Different World was set at an HBCU”

Some of the negative comments:

“A Different World is dear to my heart and Grownish doesn’t give me those vibes or feels. I felt SEEN in ADW. Grownish doesn’t even have a dark-skinned cast member. I’m good on the trailer.”

“I’m not mad I’m just saying it’s not appropriate. They should have come up with something similar not the same as a different world. A PWI and a HBCU are not say you know this. People need to be okay with people not agreeing with everything they see on the internet.”

“I love Grown-ish but copying A Different World is a bit much. HBCU and PWI are two totally different experiences. Grown-ish is not ”woke” like A Different World was and not as funny either well at least not yet. #grownish”

Personally, I enjoyed watching this promo video. It was established from the beginning where the show’s idea was inspired by and it was: A Different World. I look at this promo as being a new version of the original show meaning new school, new atmosphere, new issues, new look on student life during your second year of college. Although there are many differences in the delivery, both shows help create a safe place for conversations that college students go through and they encourage us to have these conversations within our social groups.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑